Press "Enter" to skip to content

Hurricane Dorian forces coastal Myrtle Beach evacuation, schools and governments to close

Gov. Henry McMaster has ordered coastal evacuations across South Carolina beginning Monday followed by the closure of local schools and government Tuesday in anticipation of Hurricane Dorian’s midweek arrival. 

Zone A evacuations along the Grand Strand will begin at noon, as well as other evacuations ordered by the governor for:

Colleton County Zones A and B

Beaufort County Evacuation Zone A

Jasper County Evacuation Zone A

Charleston County Evacuation Zones A, B, C

Dorchester County Evacuation Zone D

Berkeley County Evacuation Zones B, G

Georgetown County Evacuation Zone A

Check here for more information on the Zone A evacuation area in Myrtle Beach.

Use the interactive map linked here to determine if your home is in the evacuation zone.

Horry County schools, city and county governments will close beginning Tuesday and are likely to be closed for the remainder of the wee.

Hurricane Dorian is expected to impact the Grand Strand Wednesday and Thursday.